Taking A Page: I Want to Write

Hello Everyone!

I am going to be trying something a little outside my comfort zone in this blog post. I am going to be “taking a page” from my actual journal, and putting it up here for this post. I will be putting a complete entry up as the post, and not literally just one page. So that way you all will get the full story. If this works out, I might do this more often. Here we go.

I Want to Write002

I want to write a story. A book. A novel. Whatever you want to call it. I have been writing since early elementary school days. I can vaguely remember writing those stories when I was a little girl. I look back on them now and laugh, but at that time I was proud when I could get the visions in my head down on paper. I guess anyone would be proud of eight-year-old who can sit down long enough to write a story that was 20 notebook pages long, front AND back.

Back to what I was saying before; I want to write a book. My problem that I have been having is that I have too much going on in my mind. Whether it be distractions from school, distractions from my anxious mind, or distractions from whatever TV show I am binge watching on Netflix at the time. Since getting out of high school, I have told myself that it is time for me to really sit down and write a book. Almost two years after graduating high school, and here I am, still waiting for the time to write my book.

What Inspired Me?

Why did I all of a sudden get inspired to decide to do this? Someone special to me brought back the inspiration and light that makes me want to write. My Pawpaw. My father’s father. One of the most special people in my life, and the most inspiring man I know. He called me on the phone tonight, and we talked first about a movie I could suggest for him to watch. He told me that he does not get to go to the bookstore as much anymore, which made me kind of sad. But, he seems to be trying to take up movie watching. Which I am very happy that he has. But, anyway, we got into talking about me writing a book. It was actually about a year ago that he asked me for a manuscript of a book that I would write in a year. Guess what? A year has passed, and I have nothing.

After a good half hour conversation with my Pawpaw, I got off the phone, and was able to sit in my thoughts about our conversation. Why didn’t I have something written? Why didn’t I at least have some of an idea of what I want to do? Why don’t I have something for my Pawpaw to be able to read? Those questions circled my mind for a bit, and I finally got to the conclusion of how I need to jump on this book of mine ASAP.

Of course, it’s not going to be that simple. It’s not going to be as easy as one, two, three, done! I know that very well. But, I’m ready to get started. This process might take another year. It may take more. But, I want to get it started. I’m young. 19-years-old, turning 20 in four months from now. I may have the rest of my life to write, but I don’t want to wait until I’m 30 to publish my first book.

My Game Plan

So my game plan is to get started on my latest strong idea for a book. Which is an interesting one(in my opinion), but I’m not going to give anything away just yet. I need to start pre-writing. Character development, world building, plot building, and lots of research. I think the best thing for me to do now, is to kind of make a some what schedule of how I want to do things. Maybe a to-do list of some sorts. A long to-do list at that.

I think I am done writing for the day. As much I want to sit here and write for hours upon hours, I have a bubble bath that is calling my name.

~~~~~

Well there you have it. The first try of my TAP potential series. My question of the day for you all:

Do you like to write? Or read? Or both?

Thank you all for reading. Be sure to link your own blog, Twitter, Instagram down below for me to get to know you.

-Annaiss

Links: About Me // Twitter // Instagram

 

2 thoughts on “Taking A Page: I Want to Write

  1. Pingback: TAP: Late Night Writing Session (Blogmas Day 10) | Scribble Serendipity

Leave a Reply

