Food, Shopping, and Sleep Deprivation (Thanksgiving and Black Friday)

Hi friends!

29

 

I hope you all had a wonderful last few days. Whether you were celebrating Thanksgiving, Black Friday shopping, or both. I have been trying to keep to a schedule of posting on Monday and Thursday each week, but with all my Thanksgiving festivities there was not enough time in the day.

It is now the weekend, and I can officially relax and unwind. Even while I am relaxing, I am reflecting back on the last few days, and it has certainly been a whirlwind. Between shopping for ingredients, baking, spending time with my family, and Black Friday shopping, I am surprised I made it out alive. Even though I am slightly sleep deprived.

Thanksgiving

Out of the holiday traditions my family has each year, Thanksgiving is one that isn’t necessarily the same each year. My family switches off on whose house we go to I feel like each year. This year, it was at my aunt’s house, and it was a lot of fun. I had initially dreaded any type of family socializing purely because I really didn’t want to listen to arguments over politics once again over Thanksgiving. I was sure that this year it would be intense after everything that has happened these past few months in politics. It turned out to not be so bad, not much about politics was said. We all just had really good food, lots of laughter and catching up, and plenty of games to play. Thanksgiving 2016 was a success.

Black Friday(Thursday)

Okay, so I am not quite sure how Black Friday shopping works in other areas, but in my area things have changed over the years. It used to be that the sales started directly at midnight. The literal start of Friday. However, in my area, they began to start moving the time up earlier on Thursday. So our Black Friday started at 6 p.m. on Thursday. Well technically about 4:30.

It was my mom, my sister, and I this year. We went to all of our favorite stores in this one particular place in Georgia. My only plan was to buy a blanket(because I am obsessed with them) from Kohl’s, but I ended up with four pairs of boots, a comforter, socks, and a blanket. Let’s not talk about the money I spent on makeup haha.

Even with the early times, it was still a fun day. We got everything we planned on getting, and the things we didn’t get we ordered online. Yes, we suffered through the lines, but there are much worse things in the world. We kept that in mind as we waited and waited. I couldn’t wait to get home at the end of the night though. I was exhausted, and was ready to eat some leftovers from our Thanksgiving lunch.

Actual Black Friday

We actually got all of our shopping done on Thursday, so we really didn’t need to go out today. However, that didn’t stop us. My sister and I got up at 5:30 a.m. to go to another shopping place nearby our house. It was only to go to the mall and see the craziness unfold there. Of course we did have the idea to look around at the stores that we didn’t go to yesterday, but we ended up not buying anything.

Most people would probably say that it was a wasted trip, and that we could have slept in for a few more hours. But it was fun to get up that early. It kind of reminded me back to four or five years ago when Black Friday was actually on a Friday, and not mid-day Thursday. That and I really wanted to go smell all the candles at Bath and Body Works.

~~~~~

Between Thanksgiving and Black Friday shopping, I have been pretty sleep deprived. But I’m feeling a bit better now. All I’m looking forward to now is finishing up my last week of classes, and take my finals and be done with another semester in college. My question of the day for you all:

What was the best part about your Thanksgiving/Black Friday experience?

Thank you all for reading. Be sure to link your own blog, Twitter, Instagram down below for me to get to know you.

-Annaiss

my snapchat: annaissmaxwell

Links: About Me // Twitter // Instagram

Leave a Reply

