3 Lessons I’ve Learned During Finals Week (Blogmas Day 21)

Hi Friends!66

For today’s blogmas post, I was thinking about doing another college related post, as that is something that consumes most of my life these days. Well, before break that is. I will be returning back to college classes in a couple of weeks. For today’s topic, I was thinking about doing another lessons style post. Similar to the one I did for my 20th birthday(20 Lessons I’ve Learned In 20 Years). So without further rambling:

3 Lessons I’ve Learned During Finals Week

1. Do not wait until finals week to actually start studying

Take it from me, it is always better to start a week or so earlier than your actual finals. Even if it is just something simple like re-reading chapters or making flash cards. You want to be as prepared as possible going into your finals. Especially since it is not just one final, but multiple in a close period of time.

2. Take advantages of the school finals week events (stress relievers)

For example, at my campus they have activities like study-jam(a small little party to help the students relax a bit after a day of studying), midnight-breakfast(a breakfast event in the middle of the night to feed the students who have neglected to eat during cramming for their finals), or pet-a-dog(they bring rescue dogs to campus for the students to go pet for a while when they feel like they need to relax). These events are not necessarily huge, but they do the trick if you need to take a breather from all the studying you are doing.

3. But don’t forget to actually study

I know how easy it is to be like “Oh, I’ve studied for an entire hour, let me take a three-hour relaxation break”. It is always important to try to keep a balanced study system during finals week. Say for every two hours of studying, you get a thirty minute break. However, if you plan on getting a meal or showering, extend the break to an hour. That doesn’t mean that if you decide to eat a bag of popcorn that you’ve earned yourself a good hour-long break. Tip: Pre-make study snacks in the morning, so you’ll have them with you to eat while studying. That way you won’t be tempted to say you need an hour to eat a snack, and you can save those hour breaks for actual full meals or other human things.

~~~~~

These three lessons were one’s I had to learn quickly, and I have remembered these over my last four semesters of college. My question of the day for you all:

Which of these lessons do you practice?

Thank you all for reading. Be sure to link your own blog, Twitter, Instagram down below for me to get to know you.

-Annaiss

my snapchat: annaissmaxwell

Links: About Me // Twitter // Instagram

Leave a Reply

