My Thoughts on the Grey’s Anatomy Season Finale

Hi Friends!

21

photo from creative commons

As you can already tell from the title of this blog post, I’m going to be talking about Grey’s Anatomy. I originally was not planning on doing this post, as I feel like I have done a handful of TV review posts lately. However, I feel like this post isn’t going to be a review, so much as talking about my favorite/not-so-favorite parts of the finale. I do want to go ahead and disclaim that if you haven’t watched this episode yet, you definitely want to wait until after you do! SPOILERS AHEAD!

~~~~~     ~~~~~     ~~~~~

First off, I really was cautious going into the season finale. After all of the other Shonda Rhimes season finales, I felt like someone was either going to die, or someone was going to leave. Sure enough one of those came true, but twice! For the first time in a few years, this finale was not a disappointment either. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time. Unsure of what was going to happen to Edwards or the little girl. I do have to say when Edwards went down the stairs to get her ID card with the smoke filling up the stairwell had me completely convinced that Edwards was going to die. I actually kind of switched off between Edwards and the little girl on who was going to die several times throughout the entire episode. I’m going to be really sad to see Edwards leave the show, but I feel like she went out strong. The heart-to-heart she had with Webber gave me all the feels and reminded me that Webber really has a way of touching each person he has taught over the years.

Meanwhile, the whole thing with Meridith trying to find Nathan to tell him that his fiancee was still alive was kind of put on the back burner. Which oddly enough I was okay with because I felt like the episode was meant to surround what was happening with Edwards and the little girl. I thought it was interesting how calm and understanding Meredith was when she realized what this would mean with her relationship with Nathan. I really admired her character for the way she handled it. I am also happy to see that Amelia is with Owen during all of this, and I really just want Owen to find happiness after everything he has been through. I can’t wait to see what next season brings his character.

There were two problems that I had. One being the whole Minnick situation. We spent the first half of the season hating her guts, then we finally got to a point where we were okay with her being there. Then all of a sudden at the end of the season the problem just sparks fire(pun intended), and she’s fired. It seemed to be a bit of an overkill, but I did like that Bailey finally stood up for Richard. I was only slightly disappointed with Minnick leaving, and that is because I want Arizona to find happiness.

The second thing is the whole Maggie and Jackson deal. I called that a while back, but honestly I really just think they’d be good friends more than in a relationship. Maybe that’s the side of me that really thinks Japril might make a comeback, but there is also a part of me that has been annoyed with April when all the Minnick stuff was going down. The thing is, I really was surprised when April told Maggie that she should talk to Jackson. I just was taken off-guard by how April was just like yeah go do it, then just goes off to do her job. I was thinking she would be less willing to let Jackson go.

Overall, I am very pleased with the episode. I haven’t felt so happy with a season finale for Grey’s in a while. I am glad it wasn’t really left on a cliffhanger because that always makes it hard to wait for the break until the next season. The one question I have for you all is: What do you think will happen with Alex and Jo? We only got a brief mention from Alex that he ended up not doing anything to her husband. Do you think they’ll get back together? Or go their separate ways?

Choose Happiness

-Annaiss

Thank you all for reading. Be sure to link your own blog, Twitter, Instagram down below for me to get to know you.

Once Again: Photo used from Creative Commons

 

Leave a Reply

