Easy 4th of July Treats

8

Hi Friends!

I am not the best when it comes to cooking and baking. I’ve had more than my fair share of kitchen disasters over my almost 21 years of life. However, as I am getting older, I would love to try and do more things in the kitchen. While my family and I are trying to eat healthy and be active, we are going to splurge a little over the next few days with it being a holiday. With that in mind, I decided to try to bake some treats for my family, and I have three recipes that I want to share with you all. Enjoy!

8aRice Krispies Treats

-4 cups rice krispies, 1 10 oz. bag marshmellow,  any kind of chocolate you want to dip the rice crispies in(I used Ghirardelli white chocolate), and sprinkles and icing to decorate

One of my favorite treats as a child was getting to have a rice krispies. As an almost 21-year-old adult, I just now learned how to spell it correctly haha. I wanted to try out dipping my normal rice krispies treats into chocolate and decorate. I got excited with the red and blue icing on two of them and decided to do the rest with just sprinkles. However, it was a lot of fun decorating, even with the red and blue icing disaster hehe. My key tip for making these is to cut the rice krispies treats and have them ready, before melting your chocolate. You want to be pretty quick when you dip your rice krispies in and use a spoon to help apply the chocolate faster. The rice krispies could break apart if you spend too much time holding them.

Brownies8c

I used simple Ghirardelli chocolate triple fudge brownie mix, and I used a 13X9 pan instead of the recommended 8X8 or 9X9. It made the brownies thinner, but I was able to make more that way. I used some leftover melted white Ghirardelli chocolate chips for the white, red and blue icing, patriotic M&M’s(Walmart), and sprinkles to decorate.

These brownies were simple because all I had to do was decorate after I made them. I am a big brownie person, and I definitely ate a brownie or two as I was decorating. The beautiful thing about these brownies is that they are super easy to cut out different shapes if you wish, and with the excess, you can sprinkle on some ice cream or pudding. I just stuck with simple squares this time.

8bJello

I used berry blue(blue) and strawberry(red) jello, and lite whipped cream topping(white). If you plan on leaving it in the container start with blue, then white, then red. If you plan on taking it out, start with red, then white, then blue.

The jello was the most time consuming out of all of my treats just because of the different layers, but I like the jello the best out of all of my treats. I’d say my tips to make this process faster would be to set out the whipped cream as soon as you possibly can, or put it in the refrigerator the night before. If you plan on making this jello on the day of the 4th, you want to start as soon as you wake up with the first layer to give it enough time to cool before you do the second and third layers. You want to go ahead and do the bottom layer and put it in the freezer to help it chill faster. Check on it every twenty minutes or so, and as soon as it is chilled put the whipped cream on and put it back in the freezer. It is important to only apply the top layer after the whipped cream has got really cold and somewhat firm, and the top layer needs to be cooled down before poured on. That way it will prevent the middle and top layer from mixing.

Chocolate Dipped Oreos8d

Standard oreos, white Ghiraardelli chocolate chips(melted), sprinkles, and crushed M&M’s. I put the M&Ms in a plastic back and gently crushed them down to smaller pieces. My process was dip one oreo in the chocolate, smooth out the chocolate, then decorate that oreo before it could cool. Then I would start on the next one. I place them on wax paper then in the refrigerator to dry.

Last, but not least, oreos! I actually didn’t plan on making these when I went out shopping for the ingredients for my other desserts. But all it took was one look at those oreos, and I was like I’ll make something happen with them. Unrelated, my mom wanted to get oreo thins, and I’m like “go big or go home”. We’re getting the regular oreos!

Well these were all the recipies I did for my 4th of July desserts, I hope you all enjoy them, and if you make any, send me a pic on my Twitter @annamaxwell018

Choose Happiness

-Annaiss

Thank you all for reading. Be sure to link your own blog, Twitter, Instagram down below for me to get to know you.

my snapchat: annaissmaxwell

About Me // Twitter // Instagram // Pinterest

Leave a Reply

